How Comics Are Helping People Communicate About Mental Health

The artist tells Newsbeat: “I wasn’t really drawing it for anybody else but obviously it has a deep resonance.

“It gets me a lot of emails, and they are the sweetest emails.

“A father with a youngish child who went through very dark depressive episodes emailed, saying, ‘I always tried to figure out what I could do to help stop him feeling this way.

“Eventually I saw the comic and showed it to him and I said, ‘Is this what it feels like?’ He said, ‘Yes,’ and now I just build him a nest and make sure he’s got a place he can be OK till he feels a little better, and that’s really helped my communication and relationship with him.

“That was incredible to receive.”

– Felicity Morse

Read more here.

Leave a Reply

